Update: Akeredolu Wins Ondo APC Governorship Primary Election


Ondo State governor Rotimi Akeredolu has won the All Progressives Congress’s governorship primary elections.

Akeredolu polled 2, 458 delegate votes while his closest challenger Olusola Oke got 262 votes. Former chairman of the party in the state Isaac Kekemeke came a distant third with paltry 19 votes.

Both Olayide Adelami and Nathaniel Adojutelegan tied in the fourth position with four votes apiece. Jumoke Anifowose was fifth with just two votes. Ifeoluwa Oyedele and Awodeyi Akinsehinwa got one vote each. Jimi Odimayo had no vote. 33 votes were declared invalid.

In reaction to the victory, Akeredolu tweeted: “4+4 is the code for continuity. #GODWIN.”

The pioneer chairman of the party in the state, Isaac Kekemeke, described the primary election of the party as a sham.

Kekemeke, who speak with journalists yesterday during the primary election held at the International Culture and Events Center (The Dome), Akure, lamented that the election committee was not fair to the aspirants.

According to him, the Chairman of the primary election committee, Yahaya Bello, who is also the governor of Kogi State, was unfair to him and other governorship aspirants of the party in the state.

11 out of 12 governorship aspirants earlier rejected the indirect primary option, while Governor Oluwarotimi Akeredolu, who is seeking reelection, supported it although he said he was not afraid of direct primary.

Three out of the 11 governorship aspirants stepped down to support Akeredolu few hours to the poll, while Awodeyi Akinsehinwa, Bukola Adetula, Sola Iji, Olusola Oke, Jumoke Anifowoshe and Olayide Adelami took part in the poll.

Source: TheGuardian